Haryana Unified Pension Scheme (UPS): Complete Guide and Calculator

Every clause of the 2 July 2025 UPS notification for Haryana NPS employees in plain words: who can opt, the assured payout, family payout, lump sum, corpus rules and the Annexure-I examples, with a payout calculator.

Notified 2 July 2025Effective 1 August 2025Assured payout calculator

If you joined Haryana Government service on or after 1 January 2006, you are under the National Pension System, not the old pension. In July 2025 the Finance Department gave you one more choice on top of NPS: the Unified Pension Scheme. This page explains every clause of the notification in plain words, with the formula, the lump sum table and the worked examples, and the calculator below lets you test your own numbers.

UPS payout calculator

Include non-practising allowance if you get it.
Worked out by PFRDA. If unknown, keep it equal to the corpus.
Used only for the lump sum.
Optional: shows the payout with DR added.
-Assured monthly payout (before DR)
-Family payout (60%)
-Lump sum on retirement
-Excess corpus paid to you

The eight example buttons fill in the figures from Annexure-I of the notification and give exactly the payouts printed there: Rs 22,500, 13,500, 10,000, 8,800, 20,250, 18,000, 22,500 and 21,375. The calculator is an estimate. The benchmark corpus is fixed by PFRDA, not by you.

On this page
  1. What was notified, and when
  2. Who can opt for UPS
  3. The assured payout: 50%, 25 years and Rs 10,000
  4. Family payout and dearness relief
  5. Lump sum on retirement
  6. Individual corpus and pool corpus
  7. Investment choice and the default pattern
  8. Benchmark corpus and the transfer at retirement
  9. Qualifying service and basic pay
  10. How to opt: the Annexure-II form
  11. The option is final
  12. Past retirees and disciplinary cases
  13. UPS and NPS side by side
  14. The Annexure-I worked examples
  15. Questions and answers

What was notified, and when

It covers Government of Haryana employees who are under NPS under the earlier notifications of 28 October 2005 and 18 August 2008, and who choose UPS. The memo says the decision for Boards, Corporations, PSUs and State Universities will be taken later, so for now treat the scheme as applying to Government departments only.

UPS does not replace your NPS account. You keep your PRAN and the contributions keep going into a fund. What changes is the promise at the end: instead of whatever the market gives you, you get an assured monthly payout worked out from your pay and your service. To pay for that promise the scheme keeps two pots, an individual corpus and a pool corpus, explained below. Para 15 says the fund is run under regulations made by PFRDA, the pension regulator, and many details such as the benchmark corpus and the default investment pattern are left to it.

Who can opt for UPS

Two questions decide whether UPS is open to you: whether you are under NPS, and how your service will end.

Which employees can choose it (para 2 and 3)

Existing NPS employees, those in service on 1 August 2025, and future NPS employees who join after that date. Either group can pick one of two paths: take UPS under NPS, or stay on NPS without UPS. If you do nothing, you stay on plain NPS.

When the assured payout is available (para 2(i))

The ten-year condition is spelled out for superannuation. For rule 144 retirement the notification speaks only of the retirement itself, while the lump sum note says UPS does not apply below 10 years. If your case is near this line, ask your DDO how it is being read.

When UPS is not available (para 2(ii))

The assured payout is not available if you are removed, dismissed or resign. The notification says in those cases the UPS option shall not apply. It does not say what happens instead, so your NPS account would be handled under the NPS rules for that kind of exit.

The assured payout: 50%, 25 years and Rs 10,000

Para 2(iii) gives three rules, and Annexure-I gives the formula that ties them together.

The formula

Assured payout = (P / 2) x (Q / 300) x (IC / BC)

Two conditions apply. If Q is more than 300, take it as 300, so service beyond 25 years does not raise the monthly payout. And if (P / 2) x (Q / 300) comes out below Rs 10,000, take it as Rs 10,000. The IC / BC part only bites when your corpus is smaller than the benchmark and you do not make up the gap. When the corpus is equal or higher, the ratio counts as 1.

CasePQIC / BCPayout
Full service45,000300 months1Rs 22,500
15 years45,000180 months1Rs 13,500
10 years45,000120 months1Rs 9,000, raised to Rs 10,000

The pay figure is an average of twelve months, not the last month's pay, so an increment or promotion in your final year moves it only partly. For medical officers, basic pay includes non-practising allowance.

Family payout and dearness relief

If you die after retirement while receiving the assured payout, your spouse gets a family payout of 60% of the payout you were getting immediately before your death. With Rs 22,500, that is Rs 13,500 a month plus dearness relief.

The spouse must be the legally wedded husband or wife on the date of your superannuation, or on the date of your rule 144 retirement. A person you marry after retiring does not qualify under this clause, so keep your marriage proof and service record updated. The text covers death after retirement only. What happens to the family if the employee dies in service is not dealt with in this notification, so ask your DDO how that case is handled for NPS employees.

Dearness relief (DR) is available on both the assured payout and the family payout, and it is worked out the same way as dearness allowance for serving employees: when the Government raises DA, DR follows. It is payable only once the payout has started. Every figure in the annexure is written as "Rs X plus applicable Dearness Relief".

ItemRule
Family payout60% of the payout admissible to the holder just before death
Who receives itLegally wedded spouse as on date of superannuation or rule 144 retirement
DR on payout and family payoutYes, same method as DA, from the day the payout starts

Lump sum on retirement

On retirement you get a one-time payment of 10% of your monthly emoluments (basic pay plus dearness allowance) for every completed six months of qualifying service. The notification says it does not affect the quantum of the assured payout, so taking it does not cut your monthly amount.

Lump sum = (1/10 x monthly emoluments) x L, where L is the number of completed six-month periods. Only completed blocks count: with 19 years and 5 months you have 38 full blocks and the leftover five months do not count.

The annexure takes basic pay Rs 45,000 and DA at 53% (Rs 23,850), so emoluments are Rs 68,850 and one-tenth is Rs 6,885.

Qualifying serviceCompleted six-month blocks (L)Lump sum
10 years (120 months)20Rs 1,37,700
15 years (180 months)30Rs 2,06,550
20 years (240 months)40Rs 2,75,400
25 years (300 months)50Rs 3,44,250
30 years (360 months)60Rs 4,13,100
35 years (420 months)70Rs 4,81,950

Notice that the lump sum keeps rising after 25 years, unlike the monthly payout, which stops at 300 months. The note under the table says no lump sum is payable if service is under 10 years (under 120 months of contribution), because UPS does not apply in that case. The DA rate on your retirement date matters, since emoluments include DA.

Individual corpus and pool corpus

Under UPS your pension money sits in two separate pots (para 2(vii)).

Para 10 calls UPS a fund-based pension system. The promise of an assured payout is only as good as the fund behind it, so it relies on regular and timely accumulation and investment of contributions from both sides. If contributions are missed or late, the benchmark and the payout both feel it. Check your pay slip that the 10% recovery is on basic pay plus DA, that the Government's 10% is deposited every month, and that you receive the periodic statement of your corpus.

Investment choice and the default pattern

You can choose how money is invested only in the individual corpus, within the options set by PFRDA (para 2(x)). PFRDA may define a "default pattern" from time to time, and if you make no choice, the default applies automatically. Most employees will end up on the default simply by not touching the setting.

The pool corpus is different: investment decisions rest solely with the Government of Haryana (para 2(xi)). Your choice in the individual corpus does not change it.

The default matters even if you choose differently, because the benchmark corpus is worked out as if your contributions had been invested in the default pattern. If you stay on the default, your corpus and the benchmark move together. If you choose something else, they can drift apart: do better than the default and your corpus ends up above the benchmark, do worse and it ends up below. Para 6 says you will be told the value of your individual corpus and of your benchmark corpus periodically. Keep both statements, because the gap between them is the figure that can cut your payout or give you extra money. This is an explanation of the rule, not investment advice.

Benchmark corpus and the transfer at retirement

The benchmark corpus (para 5) is a yardstick PFRDA works out for each UPS employee. It answers the question: what would this employee's corpus be if everything had gone by the book? It assumes regular receipt of both contributions for every month of qualifying service, an appropriate value for any missing contributions, and investment in the default pattern.

At retirement (para 8) you authorise a transfer from your individual corpus to the pool corpus equal to the benchmark corpus. Three outcomes:

Your corpus (IC) against benchmark (BC)What happens
IC is less than BCYou may arrange an additional contribution to make up the gap.
IC equals BCThe whole benchmark amount moves to the pool corpus.
IC is more than BCValue equal to BC moves to the pool, and the balance is credited to you.

If you do not make up a gap, para 9 says the payout is proportionate. That is the IC / BC factor in the formula. Partial withdrawals matter too: the benchmark is worked out as if no withdrawal had been made, so a withdrawal you never put back shows up as a shortfall and lowers the payout. The rules for withdrawal sit with NPS and PFRDA and are not listed in this notification. The Rs 10,000 minimum protects you only when the full benchmark has been moved to the pool.

Qualifying service and basic pay

At superannuation or retirement, the Head of Office where you work determines your qualifying service under UPS (para 7). It is not worked out by the NPS system on its own. The annexures count it in months. Full payout needs 300 months, the minimum needs 120 months, and the lump sum counts only completed six-month blocks, so a few months can move the figures: 299 months gives 299/300 of the full payout, and 119 months leaves you outside UPS altogether. Check your date of joining and any breaks in service in the service book well before retirement.

For basic pay: the assured payout uses the average basic pay of the last twelve months; the lump sum uses monthly emoluments, which is basic pay plus DA; the 10% contributions are on basic pay plus DA. The notification adds an explanation that basic pay includes non-practising allowance for medical officers. Other allowances such as HRA or conveyance allowance are not part of basic pay.

How to opt: the Annexure-II form

You opt by submitting the UPS Subscriber Migration Form (Annexure-II), written for a Government sector employee already on NPS. Your part is a short declaration: your name, your parent's name, your PRAN and the date you became a subscriber, that you have read and understood the notification, that you exercise the option, that the option is final and irrevocable, and that you authorise the CRA, the NPS Trust or any body connected with UPS to collect and share the data needed for the scheme. You sign, or give a thumb impression (left thumb for men, right thumb for women).

The DDO fills and certifies a box based on service records: employee code, date of commencement of qualifying service, current month basic pay, NPA if applicable, and the scheduled date of the next increment. The DDO and then the PAO sign with their registration numbers. The signed copy stays in your service record and a copy is given to you. The DDO enters the verified data in the Central Record Keeping System and the PAO approves your option there.

Once you exercise the option, your outstanding NPS corpus in your PRAN is transferred to your individual corpus under UPS (para 4). You do not start from zero, and your 10% plus the Government's 10% carry on from there.

The option is final

Para 3 says that if you choose UPS, all its stipulations and conditions are deemed opted for and the option, once exercised, shall be final. The form repeats it in your own words. The notification does not say you can go back to plain NPS later. It does say that if you do not choose UPS you stay on NPS, so declining needs no form.

Para 11 adds, for the sake of clarity, that an employee who has chosen UPS cannot claim any other policy concession, policy change, financial benefit or parity with subsequent retirees, later or after retirement. If the Government improves terms for another group, you cannot ask for the same on the strength of having chosen UPS earlier.

Questions to answer before you sign: How many months of qualifying service will I have, and is it close to the 120 or 300 month lines? Will I retire by superannuation or rule 144 retirement? Do my NPS statements show complete credits? Will I choose my own investments or stay on the default? Who depends on my pension, and is my present spouse the one who would receive the 60% family payout? Is there any disciplinary matter pending? This page explains the clauses, it does not tell you which scheme is better, because that depends on your service length, pay, family and how things turn out.

Past retirees and disciplinary cases

UPS applies, with the changes needed, to NPS employees who retired before 1 August 2025 (paras 2(xii) and 12). They are to be paid arrears for the past period with interest at Public Provident Fund rates, and a monthly top-up that PFRDA will determine, after adjusting the withdrawals they made from their NPS corpus and the annuities already paid to them. The exact mechanism is not in the notification.

For employees facing disciplinary proceedings at the time of superannuation, or where proceedings are contemplated after retirement, para 13 says the provisions will be separately notified. So today there is no rule on whether the payout is withheld or reduced while a case is pending. If you are in this position, ask the Finance Department through your DDO for the latest instruction. Employees removed or dismissed are not covered by para 13: para 2(ii) says UPS does not apply to them.

UPS and NPS side by side

This table uses only what the Haryana notification says. Where it is silent about NPS, the cell says so. It is a reading aid, not advice on which to choose.

PointNPS (without UPS)UPS (option under NPS)
Who joinsEmployees appointed on or after 1 January 2006Same group, by choice
Your contribution10% of basic pay + DA10% of basic pay + DA
Government contributionMatching contribution10% matching to your corpus, plus an estimated 8.5% to the pool
Where the money goesOne account in your PRANIndividual corpus and a pool corpus
Monthly pensionDepends on corpus and annuity bought; not stated in this notificationAssured payout: 50% of 12-month average basic pay for 25 years
MinimumNot stated in this notificationRs 10,000 after 10 years, if the benchmark is fully transferred
Family after deathNot stated in this notification60% to the legally wedded spouse
Dearness reliefNot stated in this notificationYes, like DA, once payout starts
Lump sumNot stated in this notification10% of (basic + DA) per completed six months
Investment choicePFRDA optionsIndividual corpus only; pool decided by Government
Reversible?Not applicableNo, the option is final
Removal, dismissal, resignationDealt with under NPS rulesUPS does not apply

What is fixed by the notification: the 50% rule, the 25-year and 10-year lines, the Rs 10,000 floor, the 60% family share, the lump sum formula and the DR treatment. What still depends on the fund: your payout is multiplied by IC / BC. What is decided later: the benchmark method, the default investment pattern, the past retirees' top-up and the disciplinary case rules, all left to PFRDA or future notifications.

The Annexure-I worked examples

Common assumptions: P is Rs 45,000, so P / 2 is Rs 22,500. Unless stated, contributions were credited regularly, the employee used the default pattern and made no partial withdrawal. DR is added on top of every figure.

ScenarioServiceIC (Rs)BC (Rs)Payout (plus DR)
1. Everything in order25 years50,00,00050,00,000Rs 22,500
2. Shorter service15 years30,00,00030,00,000Rs 13,500
3. Ten years10 years25,00,00025,00,000Rs 9,000, raised to the Rs 10,000 minimum
3(a). Ten years, partial withdrawals10 years22,00,00025,00,000Rs 8,800 (no minimum applied)
4. Missing credits not made good25 years45,00,00050,00,000Rs 20,250
5. Withdrawal not recouped25 years40,00,00050,00,000Rs 18,000
6. Own choice, corpus higher25 years55,00,00050,00,000Rs 22,500, excess Rs 5,00,000 paid to the employee
7(a). Own choice, corpus lower, not made good25 years45,00,00050,00,000Rs 20,250
7(b). Gap partly made good (Rs 2,50,000 added)25 years47,50,00050,00,000Rs 21,375

What the pattern shows: the monthly payout never goes above the full assured payout, a bigger corpus is returned to you rather than added to the payout, a shorter corpus lowers the payout in proportion unless you top it up, and the Rs 10,000 floor helps only when the corpus is complete. Scenario 3 gives Rs 10,000 because the full benchmark moved to the pool, while scenario 3(a), with the same service but a short corpus, gives Rs 8,800.

This page explains the gazette notification and is not an official source. Check anything you rely on against the notification on finhry.gov.in and your DDO's instructions. Related: Haryana DA rate list and calculator, medical reimbursement, transfer policy 2026.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Unified Pension Scheme in Haryana?

UPS is an option for Haryana Government employees who are under the National Pension System. Notified by the Finance Department on 2 July 2025 and effective from 1 August 2025, it promises an assured monthly payout after retirement, worked out as 50% of the average basic pay of the last 12 months for 25 years of service, with a minimum of Rs 10,000 after 10 years.

Who can choose UPS?

Government of Haryana employees covered by NPS, both those already in service on 1 August 2025 and those who join later. Nobody is moved automatically. If you do nothing, you stay on NPS. The notification says the decision for Boards, Corporations, PSUs and State Universities will be taken later.

How much monthly pension will UPS give me?

The assured payout is (P / 2) x (Q / 300) x (IC / BC), where P is the average basic pay of the last 12 months, Q is qualifying service in months (capped at 300), IC is your individual corpus and BC is the benchmark corpus. With full service and a complete corpus it is 50% of your average basic pay, plus dearness relief. Use the calculator above for your own figures.

What is the minimum UPS payout?

Rs 10,000 a month, plus dearness relief, if you retire after at least 10 years of qualifying service. Annexure-I shows that the minimum is protected only when the full benchmark corpus has been moved to the pool corpus. With a short corpus the payout can fall below Rs 10,000, as in scenario 3(a), which gives Rs 8,800.

Can I choose UPS and later go back to NPS?

The notification says the option, once exercised, is final, and the Annexure-II form repeats that it is irrevocable. Some press reports have mentioned a one-time switch back to NPS. That is not in the 2 July 2025 notification we have, so ask your DDO for the latest circular before you assume it.

What does my family get after I die?

If you die after retirement while getting the assured payout, your legally wedded spouse receives 60% of the payout you were getting just before death, plus dearness relief. The spouse must be the one legally wedded to you on your date of superannuation or rule 144 retirement. What happens on death in service is not covered by this notification.

Is there a lump sum under UPS?

Yes. On retirement you get 10% of your monthly emoluments (basic pay plus DA) for every completed six months of qualifying service. With basic pay Rs 45,000 and DA 53%, 25 years gives Rs 3,44,250. It is paid on top of the monthly payout and does not reduce it. Under 10 years, no lump sum is payable.

What is the benchmark corpus?

It is a yardstick worked out by PFRDA for each UPS employee, assuming every contribution arrived every month and was invested in the default pattern. At retirement you move value equal to the benchmark from your individual corpus to the pool corpus. If your corpus falls short and you do not top it up, the payout is reduced in proportion. If it is higher, the extra is paid to you.

What happens if my corpus is less than the benchmark?

The payout is multiplied by IC divided by BC. In the notification, a corpus of Rs 45 lakh against a benchmark of Rs 50 lakh gives Rs 20,250 instead of Rs 22,500. You may arrange an additional contribution before retirement to close the gap: adding Rs 2.5 lakh in the example lifts the payout to Rs 21,375.

Does UPS apply if I resign or am dismissed?

No. The notification says the assured payout is not available on removal, dismissal or resignation, and in those cases the UPS option does not apply. Your NPS account would be dealt with under the NPS rules for that kind of exit.

What about employees who already retired under NPS?

UPS applies to past NPS retirees too, with the changes needed. They are to get arrears with interest at PPF rates and a monthly top-up decided by PFRDA, after adjusting what they already withdrew and the annuity already paid to them. The exact method was still pending in the notification.

Where is the option form and who signs it?

Annexure-II, the UPS Subscriber Migration Form. You sign a declaration that the option is final and irrevocable. Your DDO certifies your date of commencement of qualifying service, current basic pay, NPA if any, and next increment date, and the PAO approves the option in the CRA system.

Last reviewed 24 October 2026. An independent guide, not an official Government of Haryana website. Always rely on the latest official notification.